Green Sports Live - We Green Sports Live

No Babar as ICC announces nominees for Test Cricketer of the Year 2022


DUBAI: The highest run-scorer in Tests this year Babar Azam was not shortlisted among the nominees by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for the Test Cricketer of the Year 2022 award.

Babar, who had a dream year with the bat; scoring 1184 runs in nine matches including four hundreds, was absent from the list of nominees for the prestigious award.

The ICC, however, nominated England’s Ben Stokes and Jonathan Bairstow, Australia’s Usman Khawaja and South Africa’s Kagiso Rabada for the highest annual award of the longest format.

England’s Test captain, who injected new energy into Test cricket with his attacking mode, claimed nine wins as captain during his brief tenure and scored 870 runs in 15 matches. The right-arm pacer also claimed 26 wickets.

Another Englishman Bairstow was nominated by the ICC and was equally important in implementing England’s aggressive approach towards Test cricket.

The right-handed batter scored 1061 runs in 10 matches at an astounding average of 66.31 with the help of six centuries and a half-century.


Australia’s Khawaja was equally good with the bat this year as he amassed 1080 runs in just 11 matches at a stunning average of 67.50. The left-handed batter has four centuries and five half-centuries to his name in 2022.

The only pacer among the nominees Rabada had a dominant year with the ball in Test cricket as he picked up 47 wickets in only nine matches at a remarkable average of 22.25 and a devastating strike rate of 34.1.

He also registered two five-wicket hauls, with best figures of 5/52.

READ: ‘Fakhar, Haris added to list of probables for NZ ODIs,’ shares Afridi 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.