Green Sports Live - We Green Sports Live

Mohammad Hasnain added to list of probables for New Zealand ODIs


LAHORE: Pakistan’s young right-arm pacer Mohammad Hasnain has been added to the list of probables for the home ODI series against New Zealand, scheduled in January 2023.

Briefly, after announcing the 21 probables for the ODI series against New Zealand, the Men’s Interim National Selection Committee has added young pacer Hasnain among the shortlisted players.

Earlier, Sindh’s explosive batter Sharjeel Khan, who last played an ODI back in 2017 was named among the probables, while Shan Masood has also been added to the set of players; having played his last ODI in 2019.

Former captain and wicketkeeper batter Sarfaraz Ahmed, who marked his return to Test cricket after a gap of more than three years, has not been named among the set of players.

The interim selection committee for men’s also named six uncapped players Abrar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Aamer Jamal, Kamran Ghulam, Qasim Akram and Tayyab Tahir in the list of shortlisted players.

The final squad for the historic home ODI series will be announced following the conclusion of the ongoing Pakistan Cup and amid the second Test in Karachi, shared Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in a press release.

“The selectors will announce the 16-player squad following the conclusion of the Pakistan Cup and during the second Test, which will also be played here from 2-6 January,” said PCB in a statement.

Meanwhile, Fakhar Zaman, Khushdil Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi (injured) and Zahid Mehmood, who were part of the squad for the ODI series against the Netherlands, have not been named in the probables list.

It is pertinent to mention that Pakistan will take on New Zealand in three ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League matches, which will be played at National Bank Cricket Arena, Karachi on January 9, 11 and 13 respectively.


Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafiq, Abrar Ahmed, Aamer Jamal, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Ihsanullah, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Qasim Akram, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Sharjeel Khan and Tayyab Tahir

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.