Green Sports Live - We Green Sports Live

ICC unveils nominees for Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year


Source: FIFA

DUBAI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday, announced the nominees for the Women’s ODI Player of 2022.

In a press release, ICC nominated New Zealand’s all-rounder Amelia Kerr, her English counterpart Nat Sciver, Australian wicketkeeper batter Alyssa Healy and South African pacer Shabnim Ismail.

Proteas pacer Ismail enjoyed a sublime year with the ball as she produced scintillating performances in the bilateral series and also the Women’s World Cup. The right-arm pacer took 37 wickets in just 17 matches.

“Just like a fine wine, Shabnim Ismail continues to get better with age and the South Africa veteran may have even enjoyed the best year of her already illustrious career during 2022,” said ICC in a press release.

“The 34-year-old collected 14 scalps for the tournament at an average of just 17.50, with her superb spell of 3/27 against the tournament hosts in Hamilton pivotal in helping the Proteas advance to the semi-finals of the event,” the statement added.


The world cup-winning wicketkeeper batter Healy had undoubtedly a terrific year with the bat as she accumulated 629 runs in 12 matches alongside eight catches and four stumping behind the stumps.

The right-handed batter was adjudged the player of the final and tournament in the world cup and played a pivotal role in her side’s title victory.

Following her brilliance, Healy was nominated for the prestigious women’s ODI cricketer of the year award.

Meanwhile, England’s Sciver had arguably the best year with the bat as she amassed 833 runs at an astounding average of 70 in 17 matches. She also made 11 scalps with the ball and propelled her side into the final of the world cup.

White Ferns’ all-rounder Kerr turned out to be equally vital for her side as she scored 676 runs in 18 matches in 2022 and also took 17 wickets.

READ: Melbourne keen to host Pakistan-India Test

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.